Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Eileen KINNICK - 75 yrs ago - Week 24 - June 12-19, 1937

75 yrs ago
Week 24 - June 12-19, 1937

My mother, Eileen KINNICK (maiden name), kept a diary from 1932 until her death in 1999. In Feb 2005, I created a website of her 1936 diary, the year she graduated from high school. During the latter half of 2011, commented weekly on these entries.
For 1937, I am transcribing the daily entries, currently, at The KINNICK Project surname blog.

In this weekly blog post, I will make summary comments and observations, and perhaps add a photo, from time to time. Starting here with Week 10, I am switching to the week ending on Friday.
Setting: The family lived in a farmhouse a couple of miles out of town (Coon Rapids, Iowa). Older brother, Leo, lived at home; his girl friend, later wife, Ida, visited regularly. Younger brother, Buzzy (she often wrote Bussy) was 9 years old. Pete Smith is her 'boy friend' - fourth month starting Jan 1 (they do marry, in Mar 1938).

Week 24 (June 12-19): From the Coon Rapids Enterprise of May 31, 2012, page 4

75 Years Ago column dated May 21, 1937:

The 1937 graduation class of Coon Rapids high school breaks all records in the history of the school. Forty-five students, the largest number ever to leave that hall of learning at one time, will receive their diplomas at Commencement exercises at the high school May 27. Last year's class of 39 was the largest up until this year. Leo F. Morman is president of the graduation class. Other officers include Miss Edith Parker, vice president; Miss Virginia Gillespie, Secretary; Miss Edith Lund, treasurer; and Miss Helen Jensen, representative on student council.
Besides these, class roll includes, Miss Grace Alex, Kenneth L. Beebe, Miss June Bell, Miss Opal E. Brutsche, Miss Carolyn C. Buckley, Miss Virginia Chrystal, L.A. Clausen, Miss Linette Cretsinger, Clayton G. Davis, Miss Edythe M. Evans. A. Lincoln Ford, George Grim, Jr., Edward H. Guitz, Miss Edith Delcress Hart, Daryle Hilgenberg, Miss Gerolena Johnson, Richard L. Lawrence, Miss Margaret M. Loeffler, Miss I. Leone Lovell, Miss Edna I. Mahan, Wilbert H. Ockenfels, Donald H. Patrick, Miss Florence L. Riis, Perry J. Shirbroun, Miss Bethene Smith, Miss June N. Smith, Merville R. Sparks, Miss Harriet A. Squires, Miss Ruth C. Strandberg, Miss Berneice E. Teter, Miss Marian A. Teter, Dale G. Textor, Miss Marian Thomas, Wesley Thomas, Robert W. Trullinger, Leonard H. Tuel, Max R. Tuel, Clair V. Walsh, Miss Dorothy Watrous and Miss Neva N. Watrous.
Senior girls who will be eligible to receive Normal Training certificates include: Misses Parker, Lund, Bell, Cretsingers, Neva Watrous, Gillespie, Bernice Teter, Marian Teter, Evans, Riis and Lovell.

I look forward to additional comments!

Families are Forever!  ;-)

No comments:

Post a Comment